MCD Logo
Mehnert Corporate Design GmbH & Co.KG
info@mehnertdesign.de
+49 30 6111199

Wilhelmine-Gemberg-Weg 6, 10179 Berlin

de en

MCD Logo open_close_mobile_menu

Turning the conceivable into reality, Discover Germany

The Magazine promoting German, Swiss and Austrian lifestyle, travel and business
Issue 9/2019

The Reddot Design Award, the Federal Award for Ecodesign and the German Design Award – These are just a few of the awards received by Mehnert Corporate Design, a Berlin-based full-service agency specializing in communi­cation and product development. The team, centered around founder and owner Prof. Kurt Mehnert and head of office operations Peter Kutz, has time and again demonstrated its ability to turn innovative design ideas into reality.

Written by Marilena Stracke

The story of Mehnert Corporate Design begins in the early ‘90s when Kurt Mehnert was invited to the Anhalt University of Applied Sciences in Dessau in order to assist the university in developing its Department of Integrated Design on the grounds of the historical Bauhaus campus. For Mehnert, proximity to Berlin – where he had studied – represented a return to his roots and proved to be a huge factor in deciding where to base his company – Berlin having long been one of the world’s great creative hotspots.

This picture shows Prof. Kurt Mehnert, owner of Mehnert Corporate Design GmbH & Co.KG and professor at the Folkwang University of the Arts.

Since 2008 Prof. Mehnert has taught and conducted research at Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, where he served as acting president from 2009 to 2017. In 2017 he developed the Industrial Design Institute (IDI) at Zhaoqing University in China, of which he has remained acting president until today. “At the same time, I never stop learning: Teaching in China means sharpening your view of global market observation and the development of the future,” he explains. “In that sense I count myself very lucky to be involved. Or to quote Elon Musk: ‘I could either watch it happen or be a part of it.’”

This picture shows the website of the Industrial Design Institute (IDI) in Zhaoqing, China.

Design happens everywhere

According to Prof. Mehnert good design is more important than ever due to its medial omni­presence. He sees in design the possibility to change objects, inter­actions and attitudes using sustainable concepts, thereby creating new spaces for things to develop.

“It’s very important to me personally to not just practise that form of design but also to teach and research it,” he explains. “For Mehnert, practice is and always has been accompanied by the global academic perspectives which only research and science can provide: as a professor of strategy and vision, as dean of the University of Duisburg-Essen and as president of Folkwang University of the Arts. This triangle gives rise to a powerful synergy and serves as my very own personal ‘fuel’.”

This picture shows the Smart Pump Wilo Stratos MAXO as an example for Industrial Design and Interface Design.

This close connection to research ensures that Mehnert Corporate Design continues to think in a future-oriented manner. At Folkwang University of the Arts, Prof. Mehnert recently examined the highly topical subject of future mobility with the project NRWCar. The project centered around the question of how a small urban e-car can be realized in the era of the sharing economy. The presentation was as innovative as the concepts themselves: Thanks to virtual reality, the audience could immerse themselves in the future. The results are documented on Mehnert’s website and in the publication “Electric Vehicles for Tomorrow’s City” (Springer Galber 2016).

This picture shows the NRWCar 1.0 of the Folkwang University of the Arts, which stands for the mobility of the future.

Mehnert Corporate Design welcomes every challenge

Mehnert Corporate Design does not work only in Germany, but also takes on a wide variety of international projects. Its client base is varied, ranging from small start-ups to medium-sized companies to large inter­national corporations. Some clients have been entrusting Prof. Mehnert with their projects for almost 20 years. Thanks to its inter­disciplinary know­ledge and global network, the company’s creative team can easily satisfy the manifold require­ments and focal points of its various clients.

This picture shows the permanent make-up device of MT.Derm, which falls into the category of medical design.


The team also offers a wide range of services: For the Berlin-based agency, the design of products, product systems and user inter­actions goes hand in hand with the design of communication concepts (internal and external), corporate image, and websites and films, as well as orientation systems, cladding and space design.

This picture shows the outdoor socket outlet Fritz!Dect 210 from AVM, for which Mehnert Corporate Design was responsible both for the product design and the construction.
This visualization shows the new campus of Wilo SE, where Mehnert Corporate Design was active in the field of corporate architecture.

“We cover quite a wide spectrum, which allows us to apply our inter­disciplinary know­ledge in the best way possible,” says Peter Kutz, head of office operations. “On the one hand it enables us to walk new paths and on the other, it allows us to make the most of those which already exist. We rely on global networking to meet clients’ needs, which have with time grown more complex and layered, making a holistic approach crucial.”

This picture shows the office management Peter Kutz, who as MA Industrial Design is responsible for all areas of product development.

By offering everything from strategies, concepts and sketches to construction and programming – all from the same source – Mehnert Corporate Design can harness a synergy effect that increases the speed at which a project is realized. Kutz adds: “It’s important to us that our clients are supported from the first idea to its final implemen­tation. We take a clear stance, speak our minds and take seriously our connection to our clients. We always endeavour to take our clients on a journey where team work and participation count. We take a visionary approach to our work, but our feet remain planted firmly on the ground.”

On this picture you can see the concept for a bicycle helmet HelMut, which can be folded to a minimum size by its product design.
This picture shows the image brochure of Wohninvest Holding, which was awarded the Red Dot Design Award and nominated for the German Design Award.

The company is frequently awarded prizes for its projects. One of its biggest successes was winning the German Sustainability Award for its work with Wilo SE, a long-standing partner of Mehnert Corporate Design. In addition to many joint projects, the two companies have worked together to develop a comprehensive set of corporate product design guidelines which emphasize the importance of sustainability for innovative product and communication design.

Thanks to the company’s international outlook and inter­disciplinary approach, it has remained the trade­mark of Mehnert Corporate Design to always build bridges between great visions and precise feasibility – a task which never ceases to be exciting.

MCD Logo
Mehnert Corporate Design GmbH & Co.KG
info@mehnertdesign.de
+49 30 6111199

Wilhelmine-Gemberg-Weg 6, 10179 Berlin

de en

MCD Logo open_close_mobile_menu

Das Denkbare Wirklichkeit werden lassen, Discover Germany

Das Magazin für deutschen, schweizerischen und österreichischen Lifestyle, Reisen und Business
Ausgabe 9/2019

Reddot Design Award, Bundes­preis Ecodesign und German Design Award – dies sind nur ein paar der Preise für Mehnert Corporate Design, der Berliner Full-Service-Agentur für Kommuni­kation und Produkt­entwicklung. Mit der Umset­zung ihrer innovativen Design­ideen sticht das kreative Team um Gründer und Inhaber Prof. Kurt Mehnert und Büro­leiter Peter Kutz immer wieder hervor.

Geschrieben von Marilena Stracke

Die Geschichte von Mehnert Corporate Design beginnt Anfang der 90er Jahre, als Kurt Mehnert an die Hoch­schule Anhalt in Dessau berufen wurde, um am Aufbau des Fach­bereichs integriertes Design auf dem historischen Bauhaus-Gelände mitzuwirken. Die Nähe zu seinem Studienort Berlin brachte ihn auch zurück zu seinen Anfängen und so fiel die Wahl des Firmen­sitzes nicht schwer. Bereut hat Prof. Mehnert diese Entscheidung nie, denn Berlin zählt schon lange zu den kreativen Hotspots der Welt.

Auf diesem Bild ist Prof. Kurt Mehnert, Inhaber von Mehnert Corporate Design GmbH & Co.KG und Professor an der Folkwang Universität der Künste zu sehen.

Seit 2008 lehrt und forscht Prof. Mehnert an der Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen, welche er in den Jahren 2009-2017 als amtierender Rektor leitete. 2017 baute er das Industrial Design Institute (IDI) an der Zhaoqing University in China auf und fungiert dort weiterhin als amtierender Präsident. „Zugleich lerne ich natürlich auch selbst dazu: In China zu lehren bedeutet, den eigenen Blick für die globale Markt­beobachtung und die Entwick­lungen der Zukunft zu schärfen“, erklärt er. „So gesehen schätze ich mich glücklich, dabei zu sein, oder um es mit Elon Musk zu sagen: 'I could either watch it happen or be a part of it.'”

Auf diesem Bild ist der Webauftritt bzw. das Webdesign des Industrial Design Instituts (IDI) in Zhaoqing, China zu sehen.

Gestaltung findet überall statt

Gute Gestaltung ist laut Prof. Mehnert heute dank der medialen Omni­präsenz wichtiger denn je. Er sieht in ihr die Möglich­keit, Objekte, Inter­aktionen und Haltungen mit nach­haltigen Konzepten zu verändern und so neue Entfaltungs­räume zu schaffen.

„Persönlich ist mir wichtig, diese Art von Gestaltung nicht nur praktizieren, sondern auch lehren und dazu forschen zu können,“ erklärt er. „Die Praxis mit Mehnert Corporate Design wurde und wird ergänzt durch die Perspektiven der Forschung und Lehre in der akademischen Welt: als Professor für Strategie und Vision und Dekan an der Universität Duisburg-Essen und als Rektor an der Folkwang Universität der Künste. Dieses Dreieck birgt große synergetische Kräfte und ist mein ganz persönlicher 'Treibstoff.'“

Auf diesem Bild ist die Smart Pumpe Wilo Stratos MAXO als Beispiel für Industrial Design und Interface Design zu sehen.

Diese enge Verbindung zum Forschungs­bereich stellt auch sicher, dass Mehnert Corporate Design zukunfts­weisend denkt. An der Folkwang Universität der Künste hat sich Prof. Mehnert zum Beispiel gerade mit dem hoch­aktuellen Thema der Mobilität der Zukunft anhand des Projekts NRWCar befasst. Hier ging es darum, wie ein kleines, urbanes Elektro­auto im Zeitalter der Sharing Economy umgesetzt werden könnte. Innovativ sind nicht nur die Entwürfe, sondern auch die Präsentation: Mit Hilfe von Virtual Reality konnte das Publikum unmittel­bar in die Zukunft einsteigen. Präsentiert werden die Ergebnisse auf Mehnerts Website und in der Publikation „Elektrofahrzeuge für die Städte von morgen“ (Springer Gabler 2016).

Auf diesem Bild ist das NRWCar 1.0 der Folkwang Universität der Künste zu sehen, welches für die Mobilität der Zukunft steht.

Mehnert Corporate Design ist für jede Problemstellung offen

Mehnert Corporate Design arbeitet nicht nur im deutschen Raum, sondern hat auch viele inter­nationale Projekte. Der Kunden­stamm ist breit gefächert und reicht von kleinen Start-ups über Mittel­ständler bis hin zu globalen Groß­konzernen – einige der Kunden wenden sich schon seit fast 20 Jahren vertrauens­voll an Prof. Mehnert. Den unter­schiedlichen Anforderungen und Schwer­punkten der verschiedenen Kunden kann das kreative Team dank seines inter­disziplinären Wissens und des globalen Netzwerks stets gerecht werden.

Auf diesem Bild ist das Permanent Make-Up-Device von MT.Derm zu sehen, welches in die Kategorie des Medical Design fällt.


Auch bei den Dienst­leistungen wird eine große Band­breite angeboten. Das Gestalten von Produkten, Produkt­systemen und deren User-Interaktion gehört in der Berliner Agentur genauso dazu wie das Gestalten von Kommunikations­konzepten (nach innen und außen), Firmen­auftritten, Websites, Filmen sowie Orientierungs­systemen, Fassaden- und Platzgestaltungen.

Auf diesem Bild ist die Outdoor-Steckdose Fritz!Dect 210 von AVM zu sehen, bei dem Mehnert Corporate Design sowohl für das Produktdesign als auch die Konstruktion verantwortlich war.
Auf dieser Visualisierung ist der neue Campus der Wilo SE zu sehen, wo Mehnert Corporate Design im Bereich des Corporate Architecture tätig war.

„Wir bieten ein denkbar breites Spektrum, das es uns ermöglicht, inter­disziplinäres Wissen best­möglich anzuwenden,“ so Büroleiter Peter Kutz. „So können wir einerseits neue Wege gehen und anderseits die bestehenden optimieren. Wir werden den Anforderungen gerecht, die durch die globale Vernetzung viel­schichtiger und komplexer geworden sind und die einen holistischen Ansatz entscheidend machen.“

Auf diesem Bild ist die Büroleitung Peter Kutz zu sehen, welcher als MA Industrial Design alle Bereiche der Produktentwicklung betreut.

Indem Mehnert Corporate Design von Strategie, Analyse, Konzeption, Entwurf bis hin zu Konstruktion und Programmierung alles aus einer Hand anbietet, werden Synergie­effekte erzeugt, die die Verwirk­lichung eines Projekts beschleunigen. Kutz fügt hinzu: „Uns ist wichtig, unsere Kunden von der ersten Idee bis zur finalen Um­setzung zu betreuen. Wir zeigen klare Haltung, reden nicht nach dem Mund und nehmen Kunden­nähe ernst. Wir wollen unsere Kunden stets auf eine Reise mitnehmen, bei der Team­arbeit und Partizipation zählen. Wir arbeiten visionär, bleiben aber auf dem Boden der Tatsachen.“

Auf diesem Bild ist das Konzept für einen Fahrradhelm HelMut zu sehen, welcher durch sein Produktdesign auf eine minimale Größe gefaltet werden kann.
Auf diesem Bild ist die Imagebroschüre der Firma Wohninvest Holding zu sehen, welche mit dem Red Dot Design Award ausgezeichnet und für den German Design Award nominiert wurde.

Die Arbeiten des Büros werden regel­mäßig mit zahl­reichen wichtigen Preisen ausge­zeichnet, aber einer der besonders schönen Erfolge war der deutsche Nachhaltig­keits­preis für die Wilo SE, einem lang­jährigen Partner von Mehnert Corporate Design. Neben der gemeinsamen Gestaltung vieler Produkte wurde auch eine über­greifende Corporate Product Design Guideline erarbeitet, die nach­haltige Akzente in innovativem Produkt- und Kommunikations­design setzen konnte.

Mit seiner internationalen Perspektive und seinem inter­disziplinären Ansatz bleibt es das Marken­zeichen von Mehnert Corporate Design, stets die Brücke zwischen großer Vision und präziser Umsetz­barkeit zu bauen – es bleibt also spannend.